The blind man in Baclayon Church

Aside from those morning-glory, have you gazed on your eyes at the mirror? Have you took a break from those hours of internet surfing because you have experienced eye strain? Have you imagined becoming blind?

I do.

What if I wake-up one morning blind?

Then I won’t see my sons sleep, the pleasure seeing them sleep well will be gone. It will be hard for me to wake them up. I might find it harder to prepare their food, open the stove, and cook – I might burn their breakfast, what more lunch and dinner. The joy in helping them change to school uniform will end. Those “goodbyes”  and kisses before they leave will still be possible, but how can you see them smile?

I find it annoying today every time my sons ask me to teach them on their assignments, it always feels like going back to school, which I hate.

But if I become blind, how can I teach my sons? What if their assignments need help of an adult? They may find it arduous answering their homework unassisted. Their grades might dive because of me, it will be very painful. If they excel in class, how can I witness them walk on the stage… and when they graduate. How I can watch over them in the playground, bring them to the mall to watch movies, or guide them to the church.

This father would want to see his sons’ first and last girlfriends, subsequent weddings, his would-be grandchildren, their new homes.

This husband, if God permits, would want to carry his wife on their silver wedding anniversary at Baclayon Church in Bohol, considered as one of the oldest churches in the Philippines.

I want to thank God for these eyes, the face of my wife is soothing. I can enjoy more our God’s blessings, I can have more quality time with my family, I can value every little thing I have.

But everything has its ending. Before my eyes rust, I want to tour my sons in Bohol, their mama would want to come again.

17 comments on “The blind man in Baclayon Church

  1. You will see them don’t worry. I know how you value your loved ones and I am sure that you will take care of those eyes because of the kind of awakening you had through this post.

    God bless you and your family.

    • sir mukhang may bago ako susundan, maganda po yung blog nyo, duty ako this week, gotta check it out (BTW, thank you po sa comment, sa subject na lang ako focus kasi 5k digicam lang gamit natin)

Leave a Reply

